Department of Rapid Transit Systems,Taipei City Government

Visitors: 691925
You are here: Home > Network
  • Print
  • Forward
  • Go Back


Second Stage

Second Stage
(Approved MRT Routes)

Tucheng Extension to Dingpu

The Tucheng extension runs underground from the terminus at Yongning Station along Zhongyang Road sections 3 and 4, and ends at the high-tech industrial park in Dingpu. The extension has a total length of 2 km with one underground station, and commercial service is scheduled to begin in 2015.

Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport Access MRT System (Taipei City Section from Sanchong to Taipei City)

The Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport Access MRT System starts from Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport Terminal 2, passes Terminal 1 in the east, runs alongside Dayuan Township and Luzhu Township in Taoyuan County, Linkou District in New Taipei City, Guishan Township in Taoyuan County, and Taishan, Xinzhuang, and Sanchong districts in New Taipei City, then enters Taipei Main Station in Taipei City.

It also runs south from Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport Terminal 2 to Taiwan High Speed Rail Taoyuan Station and ends at the intersection of Zhongfeng Road and Huanbei Road in Zhongli City. The line totals 51.03 km with 22 stations.

The line is divided into two sections. The first section from Sanchong to Zhongli passes through Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport and Taoyuan Station of the high-speed rail and is being implemented by the Bureau of High Speed Rail under the Ministry of Transportation and Communications (MOTC). Civil engineering for the second section from Sanchong to Taipei City was commissioned to Taipei City Department of Rapid Transit Systems by the MOTC. The whole line is under construction.

Circular Line Phase I

The Circular line passes through 10 administrative districts across Taipei City and New Taipei City: Wenshan, Xindian, Zhonghe, Banqiao, Xinzhuang, Wugu, Luzhou, Sanchong, Shilin, and Zhongshan. The entire line is 35.9 km in length with 32 stations and was approved by the Executive Yuan to be implemented in two phases. The approved route of the Phase I, spanning 15.4 km and consisting of 14 stations, passes through Xindian, Zhonghe, Banqiao, and Xinzhuang districts and connects with five MRT lines: the Xindian, Zhonghe, Banqiao, and Xinzhuang lines, and the Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport Access MRT System. Currently, construction of Phase I is underway.

Wanda-Zhonghe-Shulin Line Phase I

The medium-capacity Wanda-Zhonghe-Shulin line, totaling 22.1 km with 22 stations and one maintenance depot, was approved by the Executive Yuan to be implemented in two phases. The Wanda-Zhonghe-Shulin line Phase I starts underground from Chiang Kai-Shek Memorial Hall Station on the Xindian line, runs beneath Nanhai Road, Heping West Road, Xizang Road, Wanda Road, and Fumin Street before crossing under the Xindian River to reach Baosheng Road in New Taipei City. It then runs along Zhongshan Road, Liancheng Road, and ends at Jincheng Road. A depot will be established in the agricultural zone on the north side of Jincheng Road and a branch line station near Juguang Road. The route is 9.5 km long, including nine underground stations and one depot.

Xinyi Eastern Extension

The final corridor study report of the Xinyi eastern extension, incorporating comments from the National Development Council (then the Council for Economic Planning and Development), was approved on February 12, 2010 by the Executive Yuan. The 1.6-kilometer-long extension is to be built underground from the Xinyi line's original terminal station, Xiangshan Station. It includes two underground stations and will run along Xinyi Road Section 6, Fude Street, and Zhongpo South Road before ending at Yucheng Park.

Xinzhuang Line (Xinzhuang Depot)

The full Xinzhuang line is 19.7 km in length, of which 7.3 km is located in Taipei City and the remaining 12.4 km in New Taipei City, and has 16 underground stations and one maintenance depot. The line starts at Guting Station on the Zhonghe line and runs beneath Hangzhou South Road, Xinyi Road, Xinsheng South Road, Songjiang Road, Minquan East and West roads, then passes beneath the Tamsui River north of Taipei Bridge to enter Sanchong District. It continues along Chongxin Road and Jieyun Road, then crosses the Erchong Flood Channel and runs back to Chongxin Road in Sanchong before continuing to Xinzhuang District along Zhongzheng Road and ending at Huilong Station near the Losheng Sanatorium. The entire line, apart from the maintenance depot, runs underground.

The Xinzhuang line opened for commercial service phase by phase: the section from Daqiaotou Station to Zhongxiao Xinsheng Station, the section from Daqiaotou Station to Fu Jen University Station, and the section from Zhongxiao Xinsheng Station to Guting Station via Dongmen Station began commercial service on November 3, 2010, January 5, 2012, and September 30, 2012, respectively. The remaining section (from Fu Jen University Station to Huilong Station in New Taipei City) began commercial service on June 29, 2013. Construction of Xinzhuang Depot is scheduled to be finished in January 2018, thus completing the entire line.

  • Hit: 16975
  • Updated: 2015-4-2 16:24
  • Reviewed: 2015-4-2 16:23

  • Source: Department of Rapid Transit Systems, Taipei City Government
  • Taipei MRT Network, opened with new window.
  • Taipei e-services online, opened with new window.
  • Taiwan Today, opened with new window.
  • ROC Yearbook, opened with new window.
  • Taipei Travel Net, opened with new window.
  • Taipei Free Public Wi-Fi Access, opened with new window.