Jump to the content zone at the center

Department of Rapid Transit Systems


How do you decide where the MRT will be built in the coming 10 years? (Planning)

Using the five operational MRT routes in the Taipei Metropolitan Area as a foundation, routes are to be extended and developed in areas with high concentrations of population and business to increase the density of MRT system services in accordance with the following considerations:

The construction on routes which have already been approved by the Executive Yuan, such as the Circular line Phase I, Wanda-Zhonghe-Shulin line Phase I, Xinyi eastern extension, Danhai Light Rail, Sanying line, and Ankeng line, will be continued and completed during the next 10 years.

Upon being approved by the Executive Yuan, the construction of the Wanda-Zhonghe-Shulin line Phase II, Circular line north section & south section, and Minsheng-Xizhi line will be commenced during the next 10 years.

In addition, in compliance with the Shezi Island Development Project and in order to solve the traffic congestion problem in Neihu Technology Park, a light rail network in the Shezi-Shilin-Beitou areas and the eastern Taipei north-south rail system are being planned.